Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Scott Talley Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

November 29, 2023

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 6-9, 13-15, and 28-29:

<u>Supreme Court</u> Chief Justice	The Honorable John W. Kittredge, Greenville, SC
<u>Court of Appeals</u> Seat 8	The Honorable Jerry Deese Vinson, Jr., Florence, SC
Seat 9	Whitney B. Harrison, Columbia, SC The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC The Honorable Matthew Price Turner, Laurens, SC
<u>Circuit Court</u> 2 nd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Grant Gibbons, Aiken, SC David W. Miller, Aiken, SC Martha M. Rivers Davisson, Aiken, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable S. Bryan Doby, Bishopville, SC Christopher R. DuRant, Gable, SC Samuel L. Floyd, Kingstree, SC
3 rd Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Kristi Fisher Curtis, Sumter, SC
4 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michael S. Holt, Hartsville, SC

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Patrick Dennis, Counsel

5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	James Smith, Columbia, SC Justin T. Williams, Columbia, SC
5 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Daniel McLeod Coble, Columbia, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	J. Derham Cole, Jr., Spartanburg, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC
8 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Eugene Cannon Griffith, Jr., Prosperity, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	The Honorable Daniel E. Martin, Jr., Charleston, SC Thomas J. Rode , Charleston, SC The Honorable Dale E. Van Slambrook , Goose Creek, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Walhalla, SC
11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable William Paul Keesley, Edgefield, SC
11 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Walton J. McLeod, IV, Columbia, SC
12 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Michael G. Nettles, Florence, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC
13 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Vernon F. Dunbar, Greenville, SC Ken Gibson, Greenville, SC Will Grove, Greenville, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Robert Bonds, Walterboro, SC
14 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Marvin Dukes, III, Beaufort, SC
15 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	David Pierce Caraker, Jr., Myrtle Beach, SC Joshua D. Holford, Myrtle Beach, SC Douglas M. Zayicek, Conway, SC
At-Large, Seat 4	Daniel J. Ballou, Rock Hill, SC William C. McMaster, III, Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 8	Kimberly V. Barr, Florence, SC T. William "Billy" McGee, III, Columbia, SC William Vickery Meetze, Marion, SC

At-Large, Seat 11	R. Allyce Bailey, Columbia, SC Joseph Bias, Lexington, SC The Honorable Milton G. Kimpson, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 16	Riley Maxwell, Columbia, SC Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC
<u>Family Court</u> 1 st Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Jerrod A. Anderson, Orangeburg, SC Deanne M. Gray, Summerville, SC
7 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Pete G. Diamaduros, Spartanburg, SC Jonathan W. Lounsberry, Spartanburg, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	Blakely Copeland Cahoon, Summerville, SC
9 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Gina J. McAlhany, Summerville, SC
10 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	David J. Brousseau, Anderson, SC Heather Vry Scalzo, Anderson, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Sammy Diamaduros, Union, SC
16 th Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	R. Chadwick "Chad" Smith, Rock Hill, SC Erin K. Urquhart, Rock Hill, SC
<u>Administrative Law Court</u> Seat 1	The Honorable Ralph K. Anderson, III, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified at the public hearings held November 6-9, 13-15, and 27-28, 2023:

<u>Master-in-Equity</u> Florence County	The Honorable Haigh Porter, Florence, SC Coit Yarborough, Timmonsville, SC
Kershaw County	William B. Cox, Jr., Camden, SC
<u>Retired</u> Supreme Court	The Honorable Jean Hoefer Toal, Columbia, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 16, 2024. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 7, 2024.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.